Pastoral Letter 22nd August 2021

This Week's pastoral Letter

Pastoral Letter 22nd August 2021



PASTORAL LETTER FOR ST ANDREW’S CHURCH

BURNHAM ON SEA for 22nd August 2021

READ CAREFULLY – THE FOLLOWING

Services

8.00a.m. Holy Communion (BCP)

10.00a.m. Said Eucharist – with singing Hymns, the Gloria and Eucharistic anthems

Coffee will be available in the Hall after the service

Anyone who wishes to be barefooted to receive Communion may do so. We may keep this option until COP26 in November. This idea came from Fr. Graham’s sermon last Sunday.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

OPENING TIMES - The Church is open for individual prayer from 10am to 12Noon on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday (10a.m. Holy Communion followed by open church for prayers) - and Fridays.

Online service provision from Church of England website or church of your choice

For those without internet access please use Morning Prayer – previously issued – Please retain.



FOODBANK – Thank you for the donations left at the Vicarage. The Foodbank is receiving a huge number of requests for help while people wait for grants and benefits to come through. If, you can support the foodbank donations can be dropped off in Tesco or at the Vicarage.

INTERCESSION TOPICS FOR THE WEEK

Monday Our Churchwardens, Standing Committee and PCC of St Andrew’s.

Tuesday Weston Hospice & St Margaret’s Hospice and their staff and chaplains

Wednesday Those working in our care homes in Burnham and Burnham hospital.

Thursday Our Foodbank

Friday Our local schools in Burnham - staff and pupils – now on holiday for the summer

Saturday Bishop Ruth – as she leads the diocese

Prayers are asked for - Mark Coles. We are asked to pray for Philip. Joyce Hallam – RIP ( Dee’s mum) Clive Thomas

.………………………………………………………………………………………..

Church - Welcomers

Could anyone help with Church watch on a weekly or fortnightly or monthly basis – please contact Pat Grimes know 786208 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and she will create a rota of those interested. This would cover the 10am to 12 Noon period each day that the church is open for Private prayer. The more helpers the merrier. Guidelines will be drawn up for your own use as a Church – welcomer.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

BEREAVEMENT CAFÉ - We await the outcome of Government guidance – but in all probability this will not begin before September. Watch this space.

 

Opening and managing Church buildings in Stage 4 of the Government roadmap out of lockdown.

 

The PCC met on Thursday 22nd July and as a result of that meeting, we are adopting the following guidelines as part of our response to coming out of lockdown.

We would be grateful if you would respect and adhere to this advice even where it is no longer mandatory. The changes came into effect on Sunday 1st August

 

Facemasks – No longer mandatory to wear. We ask that the congregation wear a mask as they come into the church and remove it once seated – if you choose to do so. Facemask to be used please when you move around the church – as you would eating in a restaurant. Wearing a face mask while seated is a matter of personal choice.

Social Distancing- We will observe a one-metre rule now – with seating in every other pew as we do at present.

A designated area of the church will have seating maintained at 2 metres.- under gallery and at back of church.

Singing - We will in August experiment with singing – but only while wearing a mask.

Hymns, the Gloria and the Sanctus may be sung.

Holy Communion – we will continue with our current practice of coming up the central aisle and receiving Communion in one kind while standing up.

Coffee after Church – Coffee after Church will be available. Please go straight to a table – you will be served. Tables are for 4 or 6 people – please do not add chairs yourself.

Please do not move around – other than to enter and exit or to use to toilets.

Please use face masks until seated. Please do enjoy – this small restoration to normality. Thank you to all arranging this.

 

We are being deliberately cautious and will use small modifications as and when it is safe to do so and in the light of our changes. We would be grateful if you would accept and adhere to these guidelines – not only for yourself, but for your brother and sisters in Christ

…………………………………………………….

Weston Hospicecare Spiritual Care Team have produced a devotional booklet – A response to the Covid 19 Pandemic. Cost 2.50. Copies available from the back of church or speak to Margaret.

 

Ride + Stride for Churches’ is a national event that takes place on the second Saturday in September every year during which cyclists and walkers all around the country are raising money for their local county Churches Trust.

Reverend Margaret is taking part in riding from Edithmead church, a 35 mile route ending at St. Andrew's on Saturday 11th September. She'd be delighted if you join her on this leisurely and picturesque ride past 14 churches. (phone 07401272939 for details).    Or sponsor her.  Half the monies raised will go to our church and half to the Trust. Sponsorship Form at welcomers table. 

 

 

 

 

August Readings for Morning Prayer

 

Date

Principal Service

Morning Prayer

Monday 2 August

DEL Week 18

 

Psalm 44

Mark 1.1-13

Tuesday 3 August

 

Psalm 48

Mark 1.14-20

Wednesday 4 August

 

Psalm 119.57-80

Mark 1.21-28

Thursday 5 August

 

Psalm 57

Mark 1.29-end

Friday 6 August

 

MP Psalm 27

1 John 3.1-3

Saturday 7 August

 

Psalm 68

Mark 2.13-22

8 August

10th Sunday after Trinity

Psalm 130

John 6.35, 41-51

 

Monday 9 August

DEL Week 19

 

Psalm 71

Mark 2.23-3.6

Tuesday 10 August

 

Psalm 73

Mark 3.7-19c

Wednesday 11 August

 

Psalm 77

Mark 3.19b-end

Thursday 12 August

 

Psalm 78.1-39

Mark 4.1-20

Friday 13 August

 

Psalm 55

Mark 4.21-34

Saturday 14 August

 

Psalm 76

Mark 4.35-end

Sunday 15 August

The Blessed Virgin Mary

Psalm 45.10-end

Luke 1.46.55

 

Monday 16 August

DEL Week 20

 

Psalm 80

Mark 5.1-20

Tuesday 17 August

 

Psalm 89.1-18

Mark 5.21-34

Wednesday 18 August

 

Psalm 119.105-128

Mark 5.35-end

Thursday 19 August

 

Psalm 92

Mark 6.1-13

Friday 20 August

 

Psalm

Mark 6.14-29

Saturday 21 August

 

Psalm 97

Mark 6.30-44

Sunday 22 August

12th Sunday after Trininity

Psalm 84

John 6.56-69

 

Monday 23 August

DEL Week 21

 

Psalm 98

Mark 6.45-end

Tuesday 24 August

 

MP Psalm 86

John 1.43-end

Wednesday 25 August

 

Psalm 111

Mark 7.14-23

Thursday 26 August

 

Psalm

Mark 7.24-30

Friday 27 August

 

Psalm 139

Mark 7.31-end

Saturday 28 August

 

Psalm 121

Mark 8.1-10

Sunday 29 August

13th Sunday after Trinity

 

Psalm 119.17-40

Revelation 3.14-end

Monday 30 August

 

Psalm 126

Mark 8.11-21

Tuesday 31 August

 

Psalm 132

Mark 8.22.26

Wednesday 1 September

 

Psalm 119.153-end

Mark 8.27-9.1

Thursday 2 September

 

Psalm 143

Mark 9.2-13

Friday 3 September

 

Psalm 144

Mark 9.14-29

Saturday 4 September

 

Psalm 147

Mark 9.30.37

 

 

 

September Morning Prayer

 

Wednesday 1 September

 

Psalm 119.153-end

Mark 8.27-9.1

Thursday 2 September

 

Psalm 143

Mark 9.2-13

Friday 3 September

 

Psalm 144

Mark 9.14-29

Saturday 4 September

 

Psalm 147

Mark 9.30-37

Sunday 5 September

14th Sunday after Trinity

Principle Service

Psalm 146

Mark 7.24 - end

 

 

 

 

Monday 6 September

 

Psalm 1

Mark 9.38-end

Tuesday 7 September

 

Psalm 5

Mark 10,1-16

Wednesday 8 September

 

Psalm 119.1-32

Mark 10.17-31

Thursday 9 September

 

Psalm 15

Mark 10.32-34

Friday 10 September

 

Psalm 19

Mark 10.46-end

Saturday 11 September

 

Psalm 23

Mark 10.46-end

Sunday 12 September

15th after Trinity

Principle Service

Psalm 116

Mark 8.27-end

Monday 13 September

 

Psalm 30

Mark 11.1-11

Tuesday 14 September

 

MP Psalm 146

John 12.27-36a

Wednesday 15 September

 

Psalm 34

Mark 11.27-end

Thursday 16 September

 

Psalm 37*

Mark 12.1-12

 

Friday 17 September

 

 

Psalm 31

Mark 12.13-17

Saturday 18 September

 

Psalm 42

Mark 12.18-27

Sunday 19 September

16th Sunday after Trinity

Principle Service

Psalm 54

Mark 9.30-37

Monday 20 September

 

Psalm 44

Mark 12.28-34

Tuesday 21 September

 

MP Psalm 49

1 Timothy 3.14-end

Wednesday 22 September

 

Psalm 119.57-80

Mark 13.1-13

Thursday 23 September

 

Psalm 57

Mark 13.14-23

Friday 24 September

 

Psalm 51

Mark 13.24-31

Saturday 25 September

 

Psalm 68

Mark 13.32-end

Sunday 26 September

17th Sunday after Trinity

Principle Service

Psalm 19.7-end

Mark 9.38-end

Monday 27 September

 

Psalm 71

Mark 14.1-11

Tuesday 28 September

 

Psalm 73

Mark 14.12-25

Wednesday 29 September

 

Psalm 34

Acts 12.1-11

Thursday 30 September

 

Psalm 78.1-39*

Mark 14.43-52

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 















 

Related Articles

Categories Other